What's new
What's new

Niles Tool Works Hydro-static Wheel Press

gpfief

Plastic
Hi Everyone,

I am super new to the forum but I have something interesting that hopefully I can get some useful insight on. I was actually referred to this forum after chatting with some people in the vintage machinery forums. First off my name is Gavin and I am a mechanical engineer fresh out of college! I was lucky enough to land a mechanical design engineering position right out of school and have been thrilled with all the work I get to do every day. I am an engineer in the Chicago area and one of my big projects I am slowly working on is the potential to rebuild this giant hydraulic/hydro-static wheel press. Our company had bought this machine awhile back but never was able to figure out. Having this machine able to be up and running would be very beneficial with all the work that we do in our machine shop.

I usually am a very good researcher, but with this machine appearing to have been made pretty far back, I was unable to find much. All I have so far is that the manufacturer is Niles Tool Works, which before that was Niles Bement Pond Co. I also now know that a few of these are still in operation around the country. The Machine Number is No. 16188. I know this giant horizontal press was originally used for the railroad industry as well. I have attached some pictures to get a good idea of the condition. With the little successful research I had, I noticed that this machine is missing the counter weight mechanism on the back that is supposed to help pull back the press arm. I have actually found a smaller version of this hydraulic press that was re-built with a modern day hydraulic system and motor attached to it.