What's new
What's new

O/T: Our health & lives

Joe Michaels

Diamond
Paolo's posts about the unfortunate passing of Jeff G and his efforts to find new homes for Jeff G's machine tools prompt me to write this post. Experiences with my own health over the past few months have been life changing and brought me home to some very important points which may be of interest to the members here. In October of 202, I was seen on a 'well visit' by a new doctor. Our long time primary care doctor had retired, and she was always spot-on with her diagnosis and care. The new doctor was an untried entity. The new doctor reported that my blood work showed I was 'slightly anemic', and asked about my 'stools' (gross topic). She used the words 'black and tarry'. Being a literal engineer, I figured that meant having the appearance and consistency of roofing cement or asphalt. Since the stools did not fit my interpretation, I said 'no' and the doctor did not pursue the matter. At the same time, I had developed 'edema' (fluid retention) in my calves, which the doctor attributed to varicose veins, a product of years of standing on concrete and steel gratings. I wound up wearing compression stockings, and got on with my life.