What's new
What's new

Oil Recommendation Review

bpoweski75

Plastic
I’m underway in the restoration of a 1950s era Leinen MLZ4SK tool room lathe and wanted to get a second look at the recommendations an oil supplier gave me.

The first category (A) is for the bronze spindle bearings with felt wicks.

The second category (B) is for the gearing in the headstock, the two speed transmission and the feed gearbox which has felt cord to lubricate the feed screw.

Below is the lubrication chart from the original manual.

iCloud

The supplier recommended:

A: Vista 10
B: ISO68 way oil ISO68 way oil

As I’ve made my way through this project and found information on the original lubricants specified these recommendations seem slightly off but I’m no expert on such matters and need some help.

Noteworthy is the difficulty in comparing oils specified in a Engler degrees at 20C as the conversion charts yield cSt at the same temperature and modern standards use 40C.

The only specified lubricant for column A I could find any information on was Gargoyle Velocite E oil. A few posts suggest it appears to be closest to an ISO 2 oil which casts doubt on their recommendation.

For column B, my reading suggests Shell Vitrea 31 has an ISO name of Vitrea Oil 46 implying that any ISO VG 46 grade circulating oil without EP additives should suffice given the various bronze bushings throughout. I gather an ISO 68 way oil could work but I’m unsure if it has any negative effect on the wicking properties of the felt cord used to lubricate the feed screw. Maybe ISO VG 68 way oil is close enough but an ISO VG 46 would be proper?

I concede that I very well may be obsessing about this too much but oil isn’t expensive compared to replacing the bronze bearings or various other components.

Any help would be very appreciated.

-Ben

Response from Shell UK