What's new
What's new

Old surface grinder, builders iron foundery

Mike Powell

Stainless
I have a chance to get an old surface grinder. The owner says it was built by BUILDERS IRON FOUNDERY PROVIDENCE R.I. U.S.A. serial No. 2018. I would like to know what you guys know about this maker, how old this machine is, and what ya think I should have to give for it. I know the magnetic chuck is small. But it looks like a larger one would fit if I needed it. The table feeds by pulling a lever. I presently use my lathe and drill press a bunch but have not had a lot of need for a surface grinder and I am not sure how much use I would get out of it.

securedownload.jpg

securedownload2.jpg

Thanks in advance for your input.

Mike :cool:

I'm not an expert on surface grinders, but that one does not look like a high-precision machine. Further, that's a single-phase motor, convenient in a small shop but guaranteed to generate more vibration that a three-phase of equal quality and HP.

On the plus side, it seems to have a fresh coat of paint. Its small size is also a big plus in a small shop. (Small machines sometimes fetch more $$$ than large ones because more people want small machines.)

$50 to a max of $200 is what I'd say, and remember I am not an expert on surface grinders. (Now, watch, someone who IS an expert chimes in and says I'm way lowball on the prices.)

John Ruth

The owner is a machine rebuilder. He purchased the machine forom an Amish fella who had it in his line shaft shop. (dont know if it was being used at the time) He said he was planing to display it at his place of business. The owner added the motor, cleaned it and gave it a paint job. He said he scraped nothing. It realy did not need it. Just a good cleaning and painting.

Welll...

Y'know, Mike... a surface-grinder at that size wouldn't be something you'd regret having around. It's small enough that you could probably tuck it under the stairway, and pull it out (or not) when you need it.