What's new
What's new

OT hit and miss engine

DeSelle

Cast Iron
I come here with this because you know all. I stumbled across this and am going to look at it tomorrow. I have not seen one like it and am wondering if you can identify it. It seems to be semi disassembled so I am hoping to get an idea of what it should look like so I can ID any loose parts that might be laying around since there are other engines there. I have some but not a lot of experience with these old engines.part3.jpg

The upright looks to be an old nova and as only one flywheelmost likely on a pump. And looks like a cylheadoff of a john deer.the No a are cool but they tend to hop around.
Old engines are like shapers kind of useless but a lot of fun....
Go over to The old engine Smoke stack four lots of help there
Or go to the CAMA show in KENT Ct and don’t tell me it to far cause I be there
My flights at 8 and a short 10 hr plane ride...:)

DeSelle:

The gray painted parts are for what is known as a "pump jack engine". These were self contained units consisting of a small hit-and-miss engine, gearing, crank and motion to work a pump on a domestic water well (such as a country home or farm might have). Not sure, but the pump jack engine may be a Fairbanks-Morse unit.

The green painted casting which is partially shown to the right of your photo is for another engine altogether. That green casting from what I can see, consists of the cylinder, cooling hopper (a reservoir for cooling water, usually cast integral with the cylinder), cylinder head, and magneto mounting bracket.