OT Metric gearing
Close
Login to Your Account
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default OT Metric gearing

I have an old A....s lathe manual. No I don't have the lathe and not interested in details about the lathe but the manual covers everything. Great book for a newbie! (No I'm not a Newbie) I cut a lot of metric threads, have a Hendey set-up to cut metric threads and gears to convert other lathes to metric if I have too. Manuals for the lathes have the typical 127/120 compound gear referenced and I know how to compute the desired threads if a chart is not available. However this At..s manual claims 44 and 52 tooth gears combine to give a ratio 44/52 or .846154 which is an almost exact function of 25.4 the English to metric ratio. I'm Lost!!! can someone explain that and how I can use that to calculate gearing needed to produce metric threads with Inch lead screw.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

i did some math and came up with a ratio of 1.2508 using that 44/52 combination which i'd not seen before. then i forgot how i did it.

anyhow,

take all the gears you have and plug them into here and see what you can do.
    Change Gears for Threading - LittleMachineShop.com

the issue you've presented is a bit complicated because you're asking what's the closest approximation you could get from a given fixed ratio of change gears.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)