What's new
What's new

Seneca Falls Star 11" spindle taper, looking for a center

ronnrwb

Plastic
I have a Seneca Falls 11"x 5ft screw cutting lathe that I am looking for a center for the spindle. The taper seems to measure out at .0367" per inch. the large dia. at end of spindle is approx. 1.115". Any thoughts on what was used for centers in these machines? The catalogue shows #2mt for centers and the tailstock does take a #2mt. I am guessing they must have used an adapter in the spindle?

Hi, I just joined here, also have a 12” Seneca Falls lathe, I need spindle center adapter too. I’m not a professional machinist. I don’t see any taper in the spindle bore. Maybe 2deg but that only extends in for 1/2”. Maybe 1.15dia from there thru. Very rough bore. I don’t get how an adapter would not spin in the spindle bore with almost no taper?

Last edited:
Ok, thanks, good thought. I’ll do it when I get home. An old Star lathe sales brochure says the 12” should allow 1” stock thru the spindle, and mine does. I don’t know what’s up, but I’ll take a photo.

Last edited:
Photos of my 12” lathe spindle. You can see a taper only goes in about 1/2”. I don’t see a MT2. What am I missing?IMG_4072a.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_4069a.jpg
    IMG_4069a.jpg
    81.5 KB · Views: 42
  • IMG_4067a.jpg
    IMG_4067a.jpg
    88.7 KB · Views: 43
Last edited:
My 9" Seneca Fall Star lathe has a Jarno #8 taper in the headstock, #3 in the tailstock. Jarno taper was common in that era-you might check that out. S/F may have provided whatever taper the customer wanted.

Tom B.

Is a key way needed to keep the collet from spinning? I don't know much about collets. A 5C wouldn't fit, my spindle bore could take a 1.125dia.

Is a key way needed to keep the collet from spinning? I don't know much about collets. A 5C wouldn't fit, my spindle bore could take a 1.125dia.