What's new
What's new

OT SR-71 LA Speed Check

When I was a young beginning fighter pilot going through "lead-in" training, Brian Shul was assigned there as an instructor and spoke to all the classes about wearing your safety equipment. He crashed a T-28 in Vietnam (probably really in Cambodia) and was horribly burned. I can tell you, it was a sobering talk and from that day forward I learned to "play the piccolo" (the stick and throttles of the F-15 contained myriad buttons to control the weapons system) with gloves on even though a lot of my squadron mates felt they did it better bare-handed. He is a hell of a guy. Later, I was stationed at Kadena in Okinawa and got to know him a little better in the O-Club bar as he was often there on temporary assignment flying the SR-71. His AF career flamed out as the higher-ups generally wanted careerist drones rather than inspirational killers as senior leaders. His photography is really excellent too. If you ever have a chance to hear him speak, don't pass it up.

Last edited:
Shul is also author of the book "Sled Driver" about the SR-71. The book is out of print, and sells at very high prices. I was able to borrow a copy from the regional library system. It came in a large envelope, and was the most battered, worn, and dog-eared book I have ever seen in library circulation. It required a special request to obtain since it was near impossible to replace and in poor condition.

Its a very good book.

After I saw that I was up most of the night binging on SR 71 videos. I am in Seattle quite often and try to always make time for the Boeing museum.

There is a cockpit section that you can sit in if its not full of kids. Thanks for the link.

I was well aware of the SR71 published specs, but was still caught off guard by its sheer length when I finally saw one at the McMinnville, OR, museum a few years ago.