What's new

Photo: ...Vincent Motorcycles...

lathefan

Titanium
...assembling the engines...1950...

Vincent_factory15.jpg

...assembling Black Shadows...

vincentfactory%28Large%29.jpg

Not to create thread drift, but I found this nice photo, of the fruits of their labor :

Michael-Furman-1950-Vincent-Black-Shadow-2014.jpg

IMHO, the finest motor bikes ever made :~)

I bought a Triumph Bonneville. Rode it an hour, fixed it an hour, road it an hour, fixed it an hour. etc etc etc. All hail Lucas the Prince of Darkness........Bob

I bought a Triumph Bonneville. Rode it an hour, fixed it an hour, road it an hour, fixed it an hour. etc etc etc. All hail Lucas the Prince of Darkness........Bob

I have listened to that bull shit for 40 years. I have been riding Triumphs and BSA's since 1970. Electrical problems put me on the side of the road once. It was on a 1969 BSA 650 Lightning. The power wire to the ignition coil broke at the connector. I stripped a little insulation bent the wire over the top of the blade terminal on the coil and pushed the connector on over the wire. 10 minutes to diagnose, repair and get back on the road. As simple as old english bikes are I don't think much of the mechanical ability of anyone that can't keep one running reliably with a minimum amount of effort.

There's a reason I bought this bike. Reason being, I used to own a '68 BSA
thunderbolt. That bike would have been great if you could buy 10 volt batteries
and 25 watt headlights. The bike below can have then entire charging and lighting
gear removed and it will go down the road just as fast....

Bmw.jpg

This having been said - Rollie Free Forever!

The Vincent Black Shadow was legendary, and the legend endures to this day. I've seen a few Vincent motorcycles up close, talked to the owners (one of whom is a machinist who rode his as a commuter bike back in the 80's),, but never ridden one.