What's new
What's new

Please help Identifying lathe

RFD

Aluminum
Hoping someone can help with identifying this little lathe that has been in my family for many many decades. I only learned of its existence recently when a family member passed away and it made its way to me as I'm a machinist. Thankfully it escaped the dumpster! It's quite an odd specimen with the drawbar, thread follower, wood and metal capabilities, and weird easily offset tailstock. I've been in touch with Tony at Lathes.co.uk and he's also stumped. Any assistance from you fine folk would be much appreciated!

Attachments

• IMG_20171215_175403.jpg
    IMG_20171215_175403.jpg
    96 KB · Views: 163
  • IMG_20171215_175029.jpg
    IMG_20171215_175029.jpg
    94.8 KB · Views: 166
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    90.7 KB · Views: 164
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    94.6 KB · Views: 143
  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    95.8 KB · Views: 166
That's an interesting piece. It looks like it may be a brass finishers lathe. I would look into G. H. Fox or American Tool and Machine CO. of Boston, MA as a possible maker. I am thinking the V-belt pulley may have been a replacement for flat belt cone. Thanks for sharing.

That is a neat piece. That rear rod and handle setup with the half nut like setup geared to the backgear is interesting and may help someone with more knowledge of what this piece was designed to do.

That's an interesting piece. It looks like it may be a brass finishers lathe. I would look into G. H. Fox or American Tool and Machine CO. of Boston, MA as a possible maker. I am thinking the V-belt pulley may have been a replacement for flat belt cone. Thanks for sharing.

I think you're onto something! It REALLY looks close to the first patent drawing. Thank you so much!!!

The threading mechanism seems to have been common to various brass finishing lathe makers after Fox. IIRC, Smith and Coventry used a similar mechanism, though their lathes were larger.