What's new
What's new

Purchased Cincinnati 16" Universal shaper - what am I in for?

Adair Orr

Aluminum
I spent more money than I should have and purchased a Cincinnati 16" universal shaper today. I'm not a professional machinist, just a tinkerer with a desire to make lots of dovetail dies for my power hammers and forming tools. There is no space in my shop and I have definitely crossed the line. I have read here the many opinions about shapers. Still, the mechanics of this thing have seduced me. I dug up a PDF of an operator's manual. I think I can take this on and make use of it. It's just money after all and money is so boring compared to reciprocating iron.

s-l1600 (7).jpgs-l1600 (6).jpg

I don't know that I really have a question or not. I wouldn't mind making contact with others who have a similar machine for when this thing is in my hands and I do have questions.
-Adair

The most important area to lube is also invisible until you take off the cover opposite the operator's side - and that is the sliding Bronze crank pin block that scoots up and down in the vertical arm

Spent lots of time on a 24" heavy duty Cincinnati. Tpo class machine. It'll do dovetails for you well if time is not of the essence.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk