What's new
What's new

Question about machining a chuck adapter for a Hendey 14x6 lathe

dmann

Plastic
Warning: I'm long winded.

Hi everyone,

I have a fairly early Hendey 14x6 conehead lathe. If it makes any difference, the serial number is 5180. It's an earlier model than the tie bar model.

I haven't had good experiences taking work out of the chuck and putting it back in and getting any consistency. I should mention that I am really new to machining, and this probably does not help me at all.

When I bought the lathe, the gentleman who owned it told me that I really should replace the chuck, but he didn't go into any detail with me about why (and I didn't know enough to ask). Now that I am actually trying to make parts with the lathe, I see the current chuck as a liability when trying to make parts that require chuck removal and reinsertion. I have tried turing between centers, but I usually end up with chatter during the cut; I do not have a follow rest for the lathe yet perhaps that could help.

I purchased a Pratt Burnerd 8 inch 3 jaw chuck without any adapters, and I plan to make the adapter. This is really what I am worried about. No matter how accurate the chuck is, if I don't do a good job on the adapter, the new chuck will be $1200 bucks worth of paper weight.

I know that the spindle threads are 8tpi, but I am pretty naive about threading in general and I am a bit confused by all of the posts I read about threads. I know there is a lot of engineering behind how the different types of threads work, and I really don't know how to figure out what type of threads the Hendey spindle has. I can do trial and error, that's proabably about the only thing I have going for me, but that's not cheap considering the cost of the stock I'm going to need in order to make the adapter. I'm a bit ashamed to admit that right now it's not uncommon for me to make a part 3 times before I get it right, and that's with pretty simple stuff.