What's new
What's new

Riefler ellipsograph?

Thornewmexico

Aluminum
Can anyone enlighten me about this item? Granted I am a tool novice, but this item seems relatively spectacular, with a bid price to match. The box is marked Clemens Riefler, Nesselwang u. Munchen Bayern This item inside is marked CL. RIEFLER MUNCHEN and WEBER Co. PHILA GERMANY 4251 .Is this the Weber of Starrett fame, or some other Weber, or something else altogether? What is the meaning of PHILA? Was it imported by Weber to Philadelphia, PA? Maybe the original owner was Weber Co. in Philadelphia, and they had it engraved as such on purchasing it. Any idea how old it is? Is it really an ellipsograph, and can you relate anything else about it? There is nothing similar by Riefler in the US or European Ebay's currently or within the last few months so it seems pretty rare. There are a many cheap ellisographs available of entirely different design in the US EBay if you just have to have an ellipsograph.

And if Rivett did not know about it, it is his own fault for having a full in-box. The auction went from about $880 to $3338.99 USD in about 4 seconds of sudden death bidding at the finale, and that after about 10 days of teasing bids by the parties involved. http://www.ebay.com/itm/112689552622?_trksid=p2471758.m4704

1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg6.jpg

A beautiful device. Though I do not think this Riefler is the same who was making the clocks. Clemens Riefler astronomical regulators were based on the escapement designed by Sigmund Riefler. Drafting instruments made by Riefler are quite common.

what a beautiful tool.
I bought one of these- Omicron Ellipsograph Model 17 (c196)
new, in about 1971. Its in the time honored tradition of the USA- copy an elegant, beautiful thing, but make it cheaper and coarser.