What's new
What's new

Rivett Lathe ?

Silverkrown

Plastic
Hey guys. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to lathes in general. I do a lot of motorcycle builds and I really wanted to make some of my own parts.
I just picked up this Rivett metal lathe a few days ago. It came with eight collets. I have been doing research and what I can tell it is likely a 505? I'm not sure as it has no numbers stamped anywhere. I have found a lot of use full information on this site so far but was wondering if any one has any more info or any upgrades that can be done to this lathe. Thanks!

Lathe3.jpg

Lathe2.jpg

Lathe1.jpg

I will take a guess that it uses Hardinge 5NS collets. Give some dimensions on one of your collets and we can confirm it, or maybe you have a marked collet. If not 5NS, then it will be 5OS, with smaller threads. A proper Rivett slide rest will be very hard to find. Your lever cross slide is even more rare, but not as useful. Rivett made beautiful lathes, using form mills to finish every surface. But tooling is rather scarce.

Larry

Cool... Nice lathe. I am currently away from any of my Rivett paperwork so I can't look this up myself...... what is the deal with that Tee slot looking slot just under the surface of the bed? I have a Rivett #4 that looks very similar to this less slot.

Also check out the Rivett608 Yahoo group...... a lot of great info there too.

Very nice lathe! Just my $0.02, but you may well find this machine a bit on the small side for motorcycle work. You might want to either sell it or trade for something in the 12-16" range.

Wow, that's a nice lathe.

Random newbie questions: did they come bare-metal like that, or was it originally painted? If one were restoring a machine, would it be reasonable to strip the paint, polish the metal, and protect it with paste wax, rather than repainting?

Thanks, Patrick

That tee slot