What's new
What's new

Geo. Juengst & Sons planer

Boatman53

Plastic
I'm trying to save this from going to the scraper. A neighbor is cleaning out her dads house and there is this planer in the basement. The closing is in a month. I've listed it on Craigslist with no response. It is a working machine. Here are some photos.

1e63cc0695c659cc553239ee566c5fda_zps7ba83370.jpg

014b6744e3ec58ea36babc005f42d900_zpsf35a3a6f.jpg

c2e5ee152f67f9786cf23f79e1867441_zpsdf91103a.jpg

19a311fad0b7e806904ec667a829cc6a_zps466d6b41.jpg

She would be happy with $500 for this machine. It is located in northern NJ in Madison.I will be there this weekend helping move out other tools. Send me a PM if you have any interest and I'll give you my phone number. I have other photos if needed. Thanks for looking. I have no room in my shop or it would go home with me.
Jim

I did call it a shaper in the Craigslist ad. Should I change the title here? I have no experience with these and thought the names were somewhat interchangeable.
Jim

Two small steps, across a room and one step to the garage. I will have an engine hoist there for a couple of weeks to help me remove the Logan Lathe that is going to me shop. I have photos of all the obstacles (not many) if someone need to be prepared.
Jim

You might get more interest if you posted the size.
It looks like it could be 12"? Or maybe smaller.

In a sense, the smaller the better for pricing. Like you, many who think they would like one also don't think they can spare the space and don't want to lift (rig) one. So the Aamcos and SB's of mere 8" stroke bring more $$ than a real, capable 24" machine.

At some point, the owner may be glad to have someone take it so she does not have to pay to have it removed and hauled off. But I think you could get at least $150 for it.