What's new
What's new

Seeking information on Elliot Cardiff Major lathe

TorqueHead

Plastic
Hello Everyone!

I am a retired machinist and just joined this forum today.
Hoping to find a manual or parts list for my Elliot Cardiff lathe known as the Major. It has a center height of 7.5" and a gap bed of 60".

I need to get into the speeds/feeds gearbox to do some repairs but without knowing what is inside I am not sure how it comes apart. The cover seems solidly stuck and I do not want to break it. The cover appears to sit on top of a frame.
I would really like to understand what is inside. If I cannot find manuals perhaps someone has photos taken during their restorations?

Cheers,
Tom

Thanks Jim,

I should have mentioned that I searched this entire site on the word "Cardiff" and among the results was the link you posted. I did send an email to the address noted in your link. Hopefully I will get a response. I found at least one member who said he had the manuals but that member has not been on this site in years. I also followed a few links of members claiming to have a lot of old machinery manuals but again, they have not been seen here for years. I

I have attached a photo of the cover I am trying to remove. See below. It looked like a simply matter of removing the bolts and levers, but so far no success. The casting is fairly thin so I don't want to hammer or pry on it very much.

Cheers,
Tom

Gearbox cover.jpg

Looking at the pictures on Tony's site there seems to be more holes on the front of the open change box than there are screws on the cover with the handles attached .
That would suggest to me that there may be some dowel pins of some kind holding the cover to the main change box casting.