What's new
What's new

So I bought an 8" Southbend lathe today

Chris2019

Plastic
I plan to tare it all down, clean, and paint. No major reconditioning at this point (as if I'm an expert). Would like to hear a critique of ths purchase (300$, no formal jackshaft, no extra change gears, decent shape, not perfect, 1 maybe 2 3 jaw chucks, a few other odds and ends, motor). Especially would like to hear from present or past owners of such a lathe. Man'd around 1932.

Lack of change gears is a real drag. I would avoid a tear down and paint if possible. There are lots of taper pins and thin castings in this lathe. It is easy to break something. Unless the paint is peeling off into little razor blade flakes, I'd just clean it up and use it.

allan

We need pictures!!! Can't tell you anything without pictures. Also the serial number, which is stamped between the Vee's at the tail stock end of the bed. BTW- South Bend Lathe did not build a 8" lathe that i'm aware of. They did build hundreds of thousands of 9" lathes over the years.

sounds like a decent buy. about tearing it down, My dad has bought two S.B. lathes and on both the oil wicks had build up in them that prevented oil to wick properly, which we discovered before any damage occurred fortunately. on most south bend lathes all of the oil is wicked rather than gravity feed. I don't believe replacement requires total tear down. use plenty of good quality oil and it should be a good little lathe for you. complete manuals and exploded views of the parts are readily available for your machine. Checkout vintagemachinery.org they've probably got the manuals for free download. enjoy your new investment!

We need pictures!!! Can't tell you anything without pictures. Also the serial number, which is stamped between the Vee's at the tail stock end of the bed. BTW- South Bend Lathe did not build a 8" lathe that i'm aware of. They did build hundreds of thousands of 9" lathes over the years.

Yes on needing pictures.