Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    New Jersey
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default So I bought an 8" Southbend lathe today

I plan to tare it all down, clean, and paint. No major reconditioning at this point (as if I'm an expert). Would like to hear a critique of ths purchase (300$, no formal jackshaft, no extra change gears, decent shape, not perfect, 1 maybe 2 3 jaw chucks, a few other odds and ends, motor). Especially would like to hear from present or past owners of such a lathe. Man'd around 1932.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Lack of change gears is a real drag. I would avoid a tear down and paint if possible. There are lots of taper pins and thin castings in this lathe. It is easy to break something. Unless the paint is peeling off into little razor blade flakes, I'd just clean it up and use it.

allan

3. Likes stevewatr liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

We need pictures!!! Can't tell you anything without pictures. Also the serial number, which is stamped between the Vee's at the tail stock end of the bed. BTW- South Bend Lathe did not build a 8" lathe that i'm aware of. They did build hundreds of thousands of 9" lathes over the years.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Chris2019 View Post
    Would like to hear a critique of ths purchase
    no extra change gears
    No change gears is a significant draw back. By the time you spend money for the change gears you need this is not a bargain

CarlBoyd

6. Likes _boris_ liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    South Dakota
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)