What's new
What's new

Starrett tool valuation assistance?

west_man_Canada

Plastic
Hello from Toronto

I have "inherited" a collection of various professional machinist tools (I can legitimize their origin to me).

I've attached a few photos indicative of the kind of things in the collection.

I am an engineer and know the basic functions of these tools (and how much they likely cost new).
What I need to know is if there is any market for these things either here or on eBay etc?

I am particularly interested to know if the cutting tools (which may be "job specific") are likely to be of any use to people or if everyone makes their own?

The Starrett tools have the one-time owners engraved on them (which I understand this is / was quite common) - does this effect their value or is standard in used tools of this type?

All comments / guidance welcome.

Starrett 236 HA .jpgStarret 445B 6RL.jpgStarret 436 2in.jpgCutters.jpgStarret 436 3in.jpg

I think Ebay is your best bet for getting a value. Go and look at completed listings.

Your thinking is correct on the cutting tools. There's no real value there. The starrett items do have real value, if you google the No.xxx on the starrett tag (Ex. No. 436) you will get to see the new value of these items which will give you an idea of what they may go for on the used market. As far as the original owner engraving his name on them, that does decrease the value obviously but most machinist aren't collectors. Most of my tools have someone else's name etched into them but to me that just means I got them for much less than the poor sap that bought them new, I'm a very Practical Machinist.

As an aside now may not be the best time to list them. With the econ in the toilet lots of shops are closing and auctioning off their assets so it's a real buyers market. To add insult to injury though, with unemployment as it currently is buyers may be hard to locate.