What's new
What's new

Starting Union Chest Restore

Dabard

Plastic
I am so glad to have found this forum! Looking for guidance and input as I want to do this restore properly. What I lack in experience I make up for with a desire to do this right.

Here's the back story: A year ago, after my hoarding father-in-law passed away, we discovered the chest amidst his packed out 3-car garage (and 2 storage lockers). I didn't know what it was, but it looked neat, and I grabbed it so it didn't go to the auction house or the junk yard. It was completely stocked with a variety of calipers and other tools that I don't recognize! Now I know it likely belonged to my wife's grandfather, who was an engineer in Maryland in pre-WWII. My wife would like it restored as an heirloom, and I'm ready to start the task.

The handle has no leather remaining. I'm concerned about that as I have no experience with leather. The front panel is missing, although I did find the lock and keys in one of the drawers. I'd like to have that remade, but I can't find good pictures of what it should look like on the inside. The one pull that is missing I also found in one of the drawers, along with the 3 small nails! The felt in the drawers is intact, but a little on the gnarly side. It should probably be replaced. The entire box is dirty, but the wood is in very good shape. I'd like the box to look nice for its age, not new.

I'm including some pictures. If I interpret correctly, the box was made in Rochester, NY. If the stamp on the inside means what I think it does, the box may have been made in 1931 when the company was falling on hard times and was soon to be sold.

I would love any and all input from those of you who have experience with restoring boxes like this. Many thanks!!!

Union Chest Front.jpgUnion Chest Inside Stamp.jpgUnion Chest Inside Number.jpgUnion Chest Logo.jpg