What's new
What's new

United States Machine Tool Company?

Smayjr

Plastic
Hi,
I'm a newbie to PM so please forgive me if I mess up.
I just purchased what appears to be a very old knee mill, made by US Machine Tool Co.,Cincinnati OH. Has anyone heard of this company. My stepdad has been a machinist for 30 years and has never heard of it. I can't find any much evidence of it's exsistence on the web. Thank you for your time.
Steven

i still have & use , since abt 1968 , a us machine tool horizontal hand mill .... maybe circa 1920 , spindle runs in massive bronze bush ....B&S 9 taper ..i have added a jackshaft to get 12 speeds down to 51 rpm ,& also an auxilliary screw feed for the x axis ..has elevating knee & head ....been a great machine for me...cut a lot of gears & fluted more than a few chambering reamers .....secret is to tool up so the capabilities are there....
this machine & the company later morphed into the burke co machines.....
some where i have some j pegs if ur interested
best wishes
docn8as

US Machine tool

See page 189 of American Machine Tool Builders by Kenneth Cope. I have one from about 1920 with very large sheaves. PS. I think they merged with Burke at some point. They produce the manual model #1 for many years with many improvements but the cast iron base remained the same for most of that time.

yep...heard of them

I own one..it's a dandy machine after getting some TLC.

Round column..never even think of climb cutting.

on the other hand no oddball motor to rebuild or buy...super easy to retrofit almost any motor.

J.Monroe is right..they were the "U.S." in U.S. Burke...which in time made the Millright.

David

Attachments

• DSC00005b.JPG
    DSC00005b.JPG
    78.5 KB · Views: 3,888
  • DSC00004b.JPG
    DSC00004b.JPG
    67.4 KB · Views: 2,193
  • DSC00006b.JPG
    DSC00006b.JPG
    69.5 KB · Views: 2,107