What's new
What's new

Wade no 5 precision bench lathe

mat89RS1

Aluminum
I believe I have acquired a one of a kind. In the next year I will make a bench for this bad boy. it's a 21 inch bed that supports threadcutting attachment and powerfeed. The compound is in prestine condition! I tought I'd share it because there isn't any pictures of this machine online.

Ball bearing spindle with a wopping 1.062inch bore spindle.

Attachments

• 20190228_181609.jpg
    20190228_181609.jpg
    92 KB · Views: 393
  • 20190228_181441.jpg
    20190228_181441.jpg
    101.7 KB · Views: 438
  • 20190228_181454.jpg
    20190228_181454.jpg
    91.2 KB · Views: 351
  • 20190228_181432.jpg
    20190228_181432.jpg
    95.9 KB · Views: 311
  • 20190216_140122.jpg
    20190216_140122.jpg
    100.7 KB · Views: 468
Too cool. While not the most experienced, I have been researching Wade lathes for the last 6 months and this is the first I've seen a 5. Did it come with any collets?

I like it. I'd say 90% of what I normally do would fit just fine on a short lathe like that.

Nice to see the combo cross on that machine- I have a Wade #7 turret lathe that I'm fitting a OEM compound cross slide onto. RIght now the slide assy is a scraping project I'm moving forward slowly with. If possible could you take some pics showing the bed shoe and clamp elements of the compound slide? Mine are entirely missing, I was going to use a similar approach to what the parting slide uses but if the OEM design does something different I'd prefer to go that way.

THanks!

Greg

Given the spindle bore, this lathe is probably a #7. Spindle bore was the primary difference between the 3, 5 and 7. Kinda nice - collets for 3's and 5's are a lot harder to come by.

Wow, so cool- I would have bought that in a second if I saw it for sale. I have a 7" Wade compound apart now getting ready to be scraped in.