What's new
What's new

Word of caution to wearers of mechanical watches

Joe Michaels

Diamond
I have been wearing Hamilton 992 railroad pocket watches for many years, carrying them in the watch pockets of my pants. Recently, one of my Hamilton watches, which I wore most often, began to keep time very erratically. I had had this watch worked upon by Historic Timekeepers, Inc- a shop I recommend highly. Dewey Clark, the horologist, had made some new parts for this Hamilton 992 (after my wife accidentally dropped it on a hard ceramic tile floor, breaking the balance wheel and staff). The watch was in first class running order when I got back from that repair, but soon began keeping time erratically. My other Hamilton 992 was not far behind it, and ceased running altogether. I sent both of these watches to Dewey Clark, the owner of Historic Timekeepers, Inc. Aside from some other issues (like a local watchmaker who put the wrong sized jewels during a previous repair and glued jewels in), Dewey Clark emailed me to ask if I was working around strong magnetic fields. He had found parts of the watches had become magnetized to the point that it affected how they kept time.