What's new
What's new

Newbie Problem.

Gear Head

Plastic
I am very new to EDM machining. I just took a class on a new Sodick Die Sinker that we have and now I am trying to make some burns.
The burn that I am trying to make is .0035-.0045 thick and .08 wide. This burn is going to be in a variety of materials.The materials that I am having trouble with at the moment are Inconel and Titanium. I am using copper tungsten electrodes and I just cannot seem to be able to burn this stuff very weel at all.

Any suggestions would really be appreciated.Thanks.

lemme get this right. all the machine does is plunge and you can't figure it out? oh boy :rolleyes:

On a more constructive note. Might try to contact your electrode dealer. What settings are best for your machine with that particular material, etc. Tolerance and surface finish requirements will effect your plan of attack.
I have been into wire edm for just two months and enjoy it. Have made some interesting parts. Hope I never have to go back to mills or lathes. LOL

I don't know if this will solve your problem, but I have seen where using Copper Tungsten electrodes, that unless you have excellent flushing that the machine reads a lot of shorting in the gap. Increase your off time and add lots of flusihing even if the piece is submreged. Also have the jump settings such that the electrode comes further out of the gap but slower.

As for settings, I cannot comment on the copper electrodes, but the Poco EDm technical manual I have suggests negative electode polarity for the Titanium and either positive or negative for the stainless (inconel). I cannot remember which is straight vs. reverse polarity since it has been awhile since I have run EDM equipment.

I would suggest that you try to stick to graphite for your electrode materials and use teh Poco product if at all possible. The only reason I suggest this is becuase they offer good knowlege and support.