What's new
What's new

2J head noise question

I have a bridgeport series 1 with a 2J variable speed from about 1968. I have noticed a vibrating sound that comes and goes from the head. So far it has only happend when I was in the middle of a cut, but I can make it go away by a slight change in speed.

Something else that I have noticed is the High/Low gear change lever seems to be not quite in the right spot. What I mean is that I can just barley touch teeth in Netural and I need to run High range with the lever all the way up and not in the locking hole.

I am new to Bridgeport mills (I have had mine about 6 months) and I am not sure what to look for when open up the head. I just ordered up some CD manuals yesterday to help me take it apart. I am not sure if the noise and the High/Low range are issue are related or if I have two things to look at.

From reading the other post it looks like I should have a look at the variable speed belt and pulleys. If anyone has any other ideas it would appreciate it.

John, while it isn't a series 2 bridgeport head that I have, my Cinncinatti toolmaster has the same sort of problem. May I ask if your machine is being operated in a cold shop? I've found that after my machine warms up, or after I change speeeds a little the sound goes away.

Adam

John, most likely your clutches are worn out or the bearing on the stationary driven varidisc is shot. The clutches will be identified as the Spindle Pulley Hub and the Gear Hub. When you pull it apart, see if the clutch teeth are bottomed out. They shouldn't be. Bill

My garage is about 55 F. I was using the mill for about 4 hours and that was when it started acting up. Temperature is something I had not considered, I might try a worklight on the side to the head to warm things up a bit.