What's new
What's new

Help with Tools for Threading, chambering andcrowning

Todd

Plastic
I am a rookie to a Lathe, so please excuse the newbie questions. Recently purchased a 12x37 HF lathe to eventualy thread , chamber and crown some barrels for my Savage Actions. I will be practicing on 1 1/4" ss scrap metal till I learn enough to do a competent job. Can anyone reccomend tools I will need to buy to go along with my new lathe to start practicing threading and turning? Lathe comes with steady rest 3,4 jaw chucks and I ordered a tool holder pack. I have books and videos on the way also, so any help with what to buy to hold reamer and thread bit for Savage would be appreciated.
Thanks for taking time to read,
T.

First off, a grinder if you don't have one! There hundreds of different threading tools, most work. I like HSS, 'cuz I turn slowly and I can sharpen it or shape it as I see fit. If you have trouble grinding a true 60* tool, there are pre-formed HSS bits as well. There are also HSS or carbide inserts available.
For reamers, a tap wrench works but I think the cadillac is the Manson reamer holder. Check out: http://www.mansonreamers.com/New%20Tools.htm
If you didn't already order a copy, John(?) Hinnant has an excellent book on barrelling rifles - check Brownells.com and search for 'Hinnant'.
Have a blast!
GsT

First I would suggest a mentor, but they can be hard to come by. The grinder is a priority. You can buy pre-ground HSS bits for just about any barrel threading project, but two or three will cost as much as a cheap grinder. You can grind your own for a buck or three.
Better make that a couple of good tenths indicators. It is a good idea to never trust one of anything. If you get a tenths 1" mic, you can make some pretty accurate bore plugs so think about that while looking for a mic. Some shanks will run over 1", so think about adding a 1-2" mic if the price is right. You could get by with a dial caliper, but a half base depth mic would be nice.