What's new
What's new

Making new savage 110 bbl

doug925

Titanium
Hi guys. A little background... I own my own cnc/ manual machine shop. I have been machining for about 15 yrs. I got into gunsmithing as a hoby, trying to duplicate everything my mentor does.(strictly 1911's) We trade machining for smith lessons. (full time smith) Anyway, I just bought a new 1.2"x 26 bbl for my savage. I have never made a barrel from the "white" condition. I can duplicate the threads, and stuff on my bbl, but I do not want to strip the rifle down as of yet. (I might need it) What threads (dai, pitch, class,) are on a 110 long action, what other details would I see when I remove the bbl nut? I would like to set up the bbl, prior to actual disassembly of the weapon. Is this a bad idea? Is the reamer for the caliber ground to some special point? Any and all ideas are welcomed. BTW, I will go get the video mentioned in a few of the other posts.
biggrin.gif

Ok, let me see if I can help ya. This will sound more complicated than it really is. It's really simple.

Major Diameter = 1.055
thread pitch = 20 tpi 60 deg "v" form
Shank lenght = 1.565 (models w/ a safety breech) OR 1.315 (models w/ standard breech) OR .710 (models w/ no bbl nut)

That should get your threaded shank right, your action may vary on the length very slightly. If you are going for maximum accuracy you should true receiver face, lap lugs and lap bolt face, in that order.

You can go ahead and dial in your bbl before disassembling your rifle. You can also turn down to major diameter and thread, but be sure to cut your shank length about .050 too long, depending on the breaching system your gun uses.

BTW be sure you chamber the end of the bbl that has stamping on it.

The reamer wont be ground to a point it will have a pilot that matches your caliber to guide it straight down the bore.

Let me know what breeching system your rifle has and I can give you the information to calculate your "go-guage" protrusion.