What's new
What's new

The last few thou.........

Roy B

Plastic
I've been chambering barrels now for a few years. Got about 30 chambers under my belt. But I still have a hard time judging the last few thousands before the bolt closes. I've tried a bunch of different methods including mounting the floating reamer holder in the cross slide and using my DRO to guage how close I am. Didn't work as good as I expected. So at this point, it's hit and miss. Ream a little bit, remount the receiver, check with go guage, ream a bit more, etc. I saw in another post a rig that uses a dial indicator to measure this. I've also seen a device that was turned to fit over the barrel stub that uses a dial indicator to measure how much the go guage is extending out of the chamber. This is nice, but I still find it hard to judge the amount to advance the tailstock. BTW, I have a dial indicator mounted on my tailstock so I can see how much it is progressing.
How about some hints and pictures?
THANKS!

Roy,

Assuming all is good and rigid in your machine your difficulty could lie more in determining how much to feed the reamer. I've noticed that you can get a wide (.000" - .004") variation in how much the headspace gage protrudes from the mouth of the chamber when taking measurements with a depth micrometer.

This stems from the fact that most headspace gages are sigificantly smaller in diameter than the chambers they are to be used in. This is so that when using an undersized reamer, like a rougher or resize reamer, the gage will go all the way into the chamber and touch the shoulder. (Talking bottle-necked cartridges here.)

Since it can tilt from one side to the other, where the gage is oriented makes a real difference in the measurement that you get from the depth micrometer.