What's new
What's new

Extension cord for a welder?

2L N Die

Aluminum
I have an Airco Dip/Stick 160 that I am hooking up to do some stick/tig welding with. The pigtail on the unit is 6/3 rubber cable, I need to replace it with something longer. I have about 75 feet of 10/3 rubber cable. Can this be used instead of the 6/3? I know there will be some amperage loss over that distance and because of the smaller wire but how much? Too Much? The electrical panel is in the back of the garage and I need to weld in the driveway. Don't have leads on the welder yet. Could I run a shorter power cord and longer leads? I would like to keep the leads to about 25' if possiable.

Thanks in advance,

Michael

230 v ? If you are using "low" settings, then you might be okay, I would try it. The welders don't draw max amps at every setting. Check your connections and cable for heating. If you are pushing the welder to it's limits, then I would use a heavier cable. (BTW, I'm not an electrician and I don't play one on tv either :rolleyes: )

Here's a little calculator that will help. Seems like allowable voltage drop is 3% (?) or 3% per amp, I can't recall exactly.

http://www.codecheck.com/volt_drop.htm

Long welding leads? Keep in mind the storage. An old millwright told me as a trainee
"...long leads? Why? You can't drag one through a cut hay field without it hanging on something. Tie one on and jump outta a plane, you can't hit the ground without it hanging on something"
:D

Michael,
I'd give it a try. The NEC gives some weird small wire allowances for welders based on expected duty cycle. Follow the same advice the welder mfgs use to size cable. If you smell burning plastic, up the wire size.

If my 225 and 250 amp welders will run on a 50 amp circuit, I'd expect your 160 to pull way less than 50. I run 150 feet of #8 extension cord but never go over 150 amps.

As to your cables, you can run 50 feet out and 50 back at 150 amps with #4 or heck, here's a chart.