What's new
What's new

Meaning-2 1/2D CAM

Monafly

Aluminum
In another inquiry folks suggested SheetCAM as a 2 1/2D CAM package. Just what does 2 1/2D mean?

Is it something that could be made on the mill by moving X, Y and Z but nothing more fancy in Z than changing the depth of cut?

Don't flame me, I'm new to CNC and trying to learn.

It sounds like you know the definition already. The only other thing I can think of for 2-1/2D is draft, or angled walls on a pocket or contour cut.

s it something that could be made on the mill by moving X, Y and Z but nothing more fancy in Z than changing the depth of cut?
You got it. X&Y can do anything but Z remains constant throught the machining of a feature.

It is my understanding the 2 ½ axis means that X Y and Z-axis’s cant move simultaneously. An example of 2 ½ axis would be a drilling cycle where X and Y position and stop then Z drills. I would assume this would also be applicable to the 2 ½ D cam package.

Mark

OK, I guessed pretty close.
How about this: Can one move ANY two axes at once? X and Z while holding Y constant? I'm thinking that to mill a cavity one would not want to plunge the mill in (especially if it wasn't center cutting), but could do that while moving in X while increasing the depth (Z) and then once at depth move X and Y to complete the pocket. Is this feasible?
Will SheetCAM allow one to generate code to do this?

Someone may correct me, but I believe the most basic cam programs will generate code to cut a minimum of 2 axis.(milling) In your example ramping down to the Z level with a changing X is common.
Although a powerful CAM pkg is importatnt, what are the capabilities of your current machines and the PC to run it? Will they move in only 2 axis at once or will they move in 3 axis simultaneously?
If you can only move in 2 axis at once Sheetcam may be the answer for you.

A repeat of some, but here goes.
Simultanious movement of all three axis's does not make the machine a 'true" 3 axis unit.