What's new
What's new

Surface finish question

daryl bane

Titanium
I am doing some cylindrical grinding on a K. O. Lee Univ. tool and cutter grinder. I am grinding a 1" dia 4140 steel round. The wheel is a new Norton 6" 32A 60grit K, freshly dressed front and sides . The part is in a motorized spin fixture between spring loaded dead centers running reverse to the direction of wheel rotation and am using coolant. After spark out, the finish to the naked eye looks great, but under a loupe, it has a tiny longitudinal flutes like slats on a barrel. Bad bearings, wrong wheel?
I am a complete novice at grinding and any help appreciated.

I guess I'm ignorant. You will have to explain how to do this because I thought the dressing took care of that, especially in a small wheel, 6" dia. Forgot to mention that on the 1st post.

Check to see if your center holes are circular and not fluted. You can bore them truly circular in the lathe, however, if you over bore them you run the risk of your grinding centers bottoming out in the holes and the part will be supported only on the very points of them. Not a good thang.

T in D

on edit..............What condition is the spin fixture you're using in? Best results use the centers provided with the machine and drive the part with a smooth belt.

Daryl, my mistake, I originally thought you were using a diamond wheel, upon re-reading your post I see I was mistaken. In that case what you describe is more than likely bearings. -Mike

Holescreek, whew, you had me going there. :) The part rotates between two dead centers, the center is part of the fixture and the motor powers a pulley around it. You need a drive dog attached to the part to spin it. The center holes look smooth under a loupe and the wear pattern suggest correct contact. Tim, you out shootin' fireworks with the grandkids Sat.?

A tool and cutter grinder is a light duty machine. You are not going to get a perfect finish like on a dedicated cylindrical grinder.