What's new
What's new

shop wants to find a niche market

cncnewbie

Plastic
Hello,
I am a rookie business consultant and this is my first machine shop/job shop assignment. This particular shop wants to find a niche market concentrate on so they can get out of the 'job shop' business. My background is in plastic injection molding so naturally i suggested that market, but this shop doesn't have the equipment to do that.
Below I will describe the shop and their equipment:
Equipment
cnc milling
1-1997 fadal 40' by 20'
1-1992 tree vmc 40' by 20'
cnc lathe
1-1989 mazak 10a
grinding
5-ko lee surface grinders
1-moore jig grinder
1-Kikind Surface Grinder 12" X 40" table 12" height
1-Kent O.D. Grinder 9" I.D. 28" Ctr to Ctr
1-Shanniji I.D. Grinder 9" I.D. 20" Ctr to Ctr
edm
1-japax wire edm8" X 13" table 9" height
1-ARD M300 EDM RAM X: 12"Y: 6"Z: 6"
manual milling
1-1983 bridgeport track mill
2-bridgeports
1-Laguh Vertical Mill
manual lathes
1-Hercules Engine Lathe 10" swing 74" long
1-Clausing Engine Lathe 6" swing 30" long

Employees:
1-grinder in the grind room
1-cnc mill programmer/operater(also can operate cnc lathe)
1-cnc lathe programmer/operater
1-manual machinist(also can do basic cnc mill jobs if needed)
1-shop foreman(also operates edm's when needed)
1-secretary
1-part time engineer(retired)
1-full time inspecter(also does maintance on machinery when needed)

-Shop is a climate controlled 24,000sq/ft building with 6,000sq/ft being office space. The building will be paid off in six years.
-shop does not have pallet changers on the mills but they do set up production jobs to run at night-shop owner and foreman split duties coming in and changing parts-not the best system but they used to do the machinist playing on the internet during 3+hr cycle time thing....
-shop does a lot of fabrication(time and material) type work for a local factory
-other than that the shop is just a job shop for the industry
-shop utilizes E2 ShopTech system for routing/pricing