What's new
What's new

Machine shop lawsuit and insurance issues

rklopp

Diamond
I am a mechanical engineer with a strong machining background, and have often been involved in lawsuits and other disputes as a consultant and expert witness. Most shop managers and owners are not exposed to litigation, and are not familiar with the process, so I thought it might be useful to describe my experience as it relates to cases involving machining, and offer some insights that might help in case the potentially unpleasant arises. I also hope to generate some discussion on the topic so I can learn from other’s experiences.

I was an expert witness in arbitration over allegations that CNC machines and fixtures that were part of a turn-key package failed to produce at the promised rate. The buyer (the defendant) withheld payment and the reseller (the plaintiff) sued. Naturally, there was hype in the plaintiff’s initial quote, but the root cause of the production shortfall was the defendant’s quality control issues. His raw castings being fed into the process (over which the plaintiff had zero control) contained defects that were not detected until after machining. Also, his inattentive operators would fail to notice a tool was broken until hundreds of parts had been run and shipped. The parts were just-in-time for the auto industry, so there was h*ll to pay.