What's new
What's new

Interapid 312b Question

Hi group!

Just bought a new Interapid 312b indicator. 2 questions.

1) What is the function of the 3 screws on the body adjacent to the probe?

2) The indicator came in the box with the pointer at a 90 degree angle to the face, how do I change that angle to make it parallel to the face.

Sorry for the dumb questions, I'm totally new at this.

Chuck

The tip will swing in an arc, push it with your finger. I'm not near an interrapid at the moment and I can't remember 3 screws. If they are spread out equally around the pivot they could have something to do with adjusting bearing preload. If it aint broke... don't mess with them. -Mike

Thanks for all the input.

From the Long Island Indicator website which 2nd's Mike's advice:

"Unless you know what you're doing, you should under no circumstances attempt to disassemble or adjust any of the screws or bearings on the indicator. "

I've already messed with the little screws on the side and now the probe reads erratically.

Anyone know of a method to return the settings to factory or do I have to send this to a pro?

Chuck

Define "erratically". is the needle shakey (shouldn't)? Does it return to the same number each time the pressure is released from the point (should)? Is there side-to-side play in the contact point (shouldn't) ? Is the tip still tight (should)?

More than likely you have released tension on the pivot bearings. If the indicator is no longer set to factory specs you have nothing to loose trying to adjust them back. Once you get it "acting right " again, you'll need a good set of gage blocks to verify accuracy. -Mike

Does it return to the same number each time the pressure is released from the point (should)?
I question this point. No indicator is read in space. They're made to do comparative measurements which means they must have a load on them to be read. Where it zero's with no load should be irrelevant unless it's very broken.