What's new
What's new

OT Working with Corian

surplusjohn

Diamond
I plan on re doing a kitchen soon and am thinking of using Corian for the counters. I have the idea to make my own farmer's sink for a couple of reasons. One is my wife is short and I could customize it to accomidate her better. the other is that I would like to build a sloped drainboard right into the counter since I find it annoying that the counters dont drain right. Anyways, this would entail considerable detail work and I have never worked with it before. Question is, does this stuff work easily enough on a table saw to allow me to do a first class detail fit up job on something like this? I have above average wood working skills.
thanks

I have cut and saw a little bit of it It works a lot like wood. If it was me I most likely would have a shop make up what I want and go from there. My big worry would be the sink. If it was just the top I would say go for it. Getting ready to do the same thing but in a bathroom.
David/toledo

I've done a few counters and tub surrounds from solid surface material ( generic corian). Corian/Dupont is very specific on how their material is to be handled. If you are not certified for Corian, they will not sell it to you.

Cleanliness is everything when making joints. Any dust or foreign material will stick out and make the joints show up. Properly made joints will be as strong as the sheet material.

Table saws, jig saws, wood routers and random orbital finish sanders are all that are needed to work this stuff. Go down to your local second hand store/Restore and loook at the backs of some corian counters to get ideas on the best way to join and support things. The glue for the pieces is a two- part acrylic colored for the specific colr you choose.