What's new
What's new

Roll Bender Advice

michaeldmore

Plastic
Hello,

I'm very new to metalworking and I need some advice on a roll bender to produce a specific part. I'm looking to find a used roll bender that can handle 3" wide flat bar (.19" thickness of 1045 steel). The primary part I will be producing with it is 30" long and I need to accomplish a diameter of 26". I will need to produce around 100 of these parts per week. I've looked at some Baileigh benders (R-M10 and R-M40) as potential machines. I could use help on selecting the most cost effective solution for my application. Any help is appreciated, and please let me know if additional information is needed.

Thank you,

Michael

From your description it seems like you want to produce a part of a circle at 13" radius and a circumferential length of 30" out of 3" x 3/16" strip.
Is that correct?
If it is,the best tool would be a set of initial pinch rolls,although this would leave a short flat at each end.If you can`t have a flat,you would need to preform the ends by pressing before rolling.

Edit:Thought I`d better explain what I meant by flat.The flat bit at each end would be about 1.5 to 2 times the material thickness.

I don't know about the models you mention, but I bought Baileigh's smallest, the RM-3 planetary roller, a while ago. Before ordering I spoke to them and they assured me their roller was superior to the similar but half priced Harbor Freight unit. The one they sent me was as sloppy and loose as the HF junk, but heavier built. I returned it and they sent me a hand selected one, that was certainly better, but just not what I had hoped for. Still too much play, and rolling spirals instead of coils in brass. Sigh....

Maybe their larger rollers are better, probably the european made ones are, but the chinese stuff is disappointing.

I've made my own, can't recommend that either - takes WAY longer than expected, but very accurate and nice.

Michael,