What's new
What's new

Scroll Bender

WirelessG

Plastic
Hi guys -

I did a search on the forums, but I didn't fins what I was looking for. I am just a hobbyist and I don't want to spend too much money. I there a cheap scroll bender that I can buy that will handle 1/2" round bar? I see that a Baileigh has a bender that will go up to 7/16". I guess I could live with that, but it runs about $300. I've seen other cheaper ones, but they only work on 1/4" flat bar. I've found plans for scroll benders, but again, they are for thin flat bar. Anyone have any thoughts? Thanks.

1/2" takes a fair amount of force. Most commercial machines that will do 1/2" round are powered, and cost thousands. The dies alone cost more than three hundred.

I did a project a while ago where we had to bend 900 scrolls from 1/2" round stainless, in varying sizes up to 24" diameter- and we used a power bender. You dont wanna know how much that machine cost.

The best solution for home use, small scale scrolling, is to buy a hossfeld bender. I freehand bend scrolls on top of the hossfeld, it doesnt require any fancy expensive dies, and you can do any size or shape of material, any size scroll.

A new hossfeld is around $625, used they can go cheaper. With one, you can bend any size up to 4" wide, pipe, tube, flat, round, square, angle, and so on. Its a lifetime tool that will be useful for a lot more than scrolls.

Alternatively, make a scroll jig. bend flat bar in your vise, weld it down to a piece of plate, and do em hot. I doubt, without a hossfeld, you can bend 1/2" cold, but hot, no problem. With a hossfeld, I bend up to 1" cold.