What's new
What's new

Bridgeport M head Cutting expectations

Bellaru433

Aluminum
I recently picked up a Bridgeport M head in really nice shape which came with the standard 1/2 hp motor,, i’m new to all this but it seems like it just doesn’t have that much power when making a cut .. I am not aware of just how deep of a cut I can make let’s say with a half inch for fluted end mill but if I tried to remove 1/8 of an inch I’ve material in even aluminum I have to travel extremely slow just to keep it going or just Boggs down and comes to a stop ,, I would think that it would be a little more productive than that rather than having to just hardly nip away at it at super slow speed one 16 of an inch deep every pass I take.. I thought maybe the motor was worn out and I took that in and have them go through it and they said there’s nothing wrong with that at all other then the bearings or slightly worn which I had replaced but other than that they say it’s good to go no problem whatsoever with the motor .. and like I said this is when cutting aluminum I can imagine how much worse the situation would be if I were cutting steel ... is this to be expected I know the other Bridgeport machine is like the J head has more power for motors with the M head being the least powerful at 1/2 hp but it’s hard to believe that this machine help us get through World War II at the rate it puts out ... does this sound about right ,,is this to be expected using a brand new solid carbide cutting tool..??? Any input on this would be greatly appreciated thank you ...

Simple things, but how sharp is your end-mill? Is it the motor that's bogging down or is the belt slipping.

You are correct in that it's a "light duty" machine, but also remember it was made to be a "details" machine to catch all the little operations that the heavy duty horizontal mills couldn't do. It wasn't until later that they realized how versatile a high speed vertical spindle was with the right horse power and rigidity.