What's new
What's new

Bridgeport Mill

Dtapster

Aluminum
New to the forum and hobby. Looking at a Bridgeport mill and would appreciate your comments. Here are a few pics.

Thanks,

Doug

Attachments

• 20210127_112234.jpg
    20210127_112234.jpg
    98 KB · Views: 477
  • 20210127_112251.jpg
    20210127_112251.jpg
    97.1 KB · Views: 388
  • 20210127_112301.jpg
    20210127_112301.jpg
    90.2 KB · Views: 367
  • 20210127_112312.jpg
    20210127_112312.jpg
    96.3 KB · Views: 349
  • 20210127_112324.jpg
    20210127_112324.jpg
    93.5 KB · Views: 378
Price is still negotiable. There will be very little tooling with the mill. It's in an operating (and successful shop) and the tooling will be kept for the other Bridgeport mill the owner has. Just like this one but with a smaller bed.

Doug

P.S. Sorry for the sideways pics - can't figure out how to change them.

Why are they selling it?

They are keeping the smaller Bridgeport?

IMHO as a service tech, I would be wary. It looks good and looks clean. But if they are keeping a smaller BP for themselves and selling the bigger one... ya that just sounds iffy to me.

Very low SN on the 8F, looks to be chrome ways with flaking...

Just an FYI, that is almost always my first question is why is someone selling it. I guess when it comes to a machine being sold, I always assume there is an issue with it.

Jon

Price is still negotiable.

That tells us nothing, he could be asking 10k..... I'm guessing there are not a lot of mills for sale in Montana, maybe I'm wrong. Prices vary by region, you could probably buy the same machine for less elsewhere, but spend just as much/more to transport it.

I purchased a really nice Gorton a few months back, had to haul it out of CA, by the time it was in my shop I was into it for about 3K, purchasing local was not an option in my community.