What's new
What's new

Bridgeport table won't raise and lower

redgtsviper

Plastic
I just inherited a 1974 bridgeport. I am very new to the bridgeport. The table is about sitting about center of the up and down travel. However when I turn the crank to raise and lower it will not move. Can anyone tell me what could keep the knee from traveling up and down.

Can anyone tell me what could keep the knee from traveling up and down.

The knee clamp is engaged.

The knee gib is adjusted 'too tight.'

Lack of lube to the knee ways/knee gib.

The knee gib is 'froze up' aka lack of lube, debris, and or rust has jammed it tight in the dovetail preventing
knee travel.

Make sure the knee clamp is released, remove the knee way wipers, clean the ways and add oil to the top of the ways. If the mill came with a Biljur oil pump or some equivalent use it to pump some oil to the ways. Get some oil or penatrating oil in there to loosen the crud.
The gib should come out for inspection. Do not force it or shear the slot in the adjustment screw. This is a single ended gib, there is only one adjustment screw at the top of the gib. This is the widest, thickest part of the gib. Ideally, back out the adjusting screw as the knee is cranked down. The friction between the column dovetail and the sliding face of the gib will hold the gib in position as the knee drops. Once there is contamination between the column way and the gib, moving the knee up will jam the gib tighter in place, so avoid raising the knee.
Use the Search tool and find other threads with a Bridgeport knee problem, 'stuck knee' ect.
John

Move the saddle in towards the column and center the table on the saddle when trying to back out the gib. This helps 'balance' the load.