What's new
What's new

Bridgeport Y axis nut

The Y axis nut had about .050 lash as read on the dial. Suddenly it has .200 lash. So I figure the adjuster screw backed out. So I remove the Servo power feed and the bearing block to make a quick adjustment. Much to my surprise there is no adjusting screw. I removed the lead screw for a better look and discover the nuts are one nut with no apparent adjustability. The slop is the whole nut moving in the trunnion. Can I tighten it up without a major tear down? I have quite a bit of work right now and need it up and running. It is no garage queen, it works for a living every day.

I'm no expert, I've had 3 bridgeports, 1 old round ram, middle aged step pulley, and a youth vari speed. All had an adjuster bolt, I think it was above the leadscrew. Is there a place for an adjuster screw and it's just missing. Worse case you could drill/tap a bolt into the trunion to at least hold the nut still

I'm no expert, I've had 3 bridgeports, 1 old round ram, middle aged step pulley, and a youth vari speed. All had an adjuster bolt, I think it was above the leadscrew. Is there a place for an adjuster screw and it's just missing. Worse case you could drill/tap a bolt into the trunion to at least hold the nut still

I know the screw you are referring to, that is the one I was going to adjust. It's not there, and the nut is one piece, not two so it can't be adjusted anyway. The nut seems to be able to move in the trunnion. What holds it in place? I need to repair this without a tear down, is it possible?

So your yoke is not drilled and tapped for an adjusting screws and a locking screw? Typically a single nut has a cut on one side. So you should be able to have the adjusting screw on the same side as the cut, so that you can actually tighten and loosen the tension on that part of the nut that will give you the adjustment.