What's new
What's new

DV 59 spindle compatibility between machines

spooky

Aluminum
Hey All,

I'm still new to the Hardinge lathes, and I've never been inside the headstock of one. If I can find a good condition spindle I'd like to put it on the shelf just in case I ever have need of one. I have no idea how long my machine has been run before it was converted to cnc, after it was converted or if the spindle has ever been replaced.

Anyhow, another member has a DV-59 he is parting out. The headstock however, looks very much different from mine. The collet system is also very different. I am assuming that different collet closer systems were probably used on common spindles, but I'd sure like to know for sure. Also, I'd like to know if common spindles were used in the DV-59's (and other models too) even if the head castings were different.

If different spindles were used in different head castings, is there a way to tell the difference and make sure I get the right one for my machine?

Here is a pic of my machine's headstock and collet system:

headstock1.jpg
headstock2.jpg

Here is a pic of the other machine's headstock and collet system:

IMG_00223.jpg

I realize that my spindle is the threaded model and his the taper mount. I am hoping this isn't a problem. Also the drive on his machine looks to be some sort of sheave drive, while mine uses V belts. When I looked for a spindle online I found this picture:

image032.jpg

Which was listed for many different models, so I was hoping there was some sort of commonality. Thanks for any light you all may be able to shine on this topic!

Chris E.
Evrard Enterprises LLC