What's new
What's new

DX32 Directories "." and ".."

russellmakes

Plastic
Hello, I have a 1996 Bridgeport Torq Cut 22. I've had the machine a couple years now and am still learning of course. I've been running programs from the A drive but recently learned how to store and run programs on the C drive. I like that idea for some of my fleshed out programs that I come back to frequently.
So I started playing with making new directories for organizing these programs. That's when I noticed whenever I create a new directory, there are two "directories" automatically created titled "." and ".." I realize "cd .." is DOS for moving up a level, but is that what these are? I can't enter DOS commands in this space. I also see in the upper right, "<.> = WorkDIR". What does that mean? This is the only mention of "WorkDir" or "work directories" and there's no description in the manual.
I can't seem to figure out why they're displayed with the rest of the directories. In the illustrations in the manual they aren't there. I'd like to eliminate them if I can. Thank you.
Cheers.
directories.jpg

From a computer operating system perspective they need to exist, sort of short hand for how files and directories are organized. Usually they are hidden, don’t have any advice specific to that system on how to hide them or why they are showing up.

"." is an alias for "this directory" and ".." is an alias for "parent directory of this directory". At the very top of the directory tree, either ".." doesn't exist or it's another alias for "this directory". They are displayed in the list of files and directories because they are names of directories. Some systems automatically suppress showing any name beginning with ".". I have not idea what the applicable features of your control are in this regard.

"current working directory" starts out as whatever directory you are in when you launch your app.