Edge finding that does not mare the work. - Page 2
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Marring the work with and edge finder may be a matter of what the work finish is and how soft it is.
    If I had to finish the back end of a small mirror mount with the mirror attached so as to hold back length I would not hit the mirror with an edge finder.
    Normally of no concern but I'd bet that if you get your 1500X microsope out all rotating edge finders marr the work piece in conventional materials.
    If you have one micron readouts every notice that such edge finders "snap" in just a bit from hit one to hit two? Second a tad more and then three,four and they settle down.
    Bob

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I've been using a Starrett edge finder for over 45 years and I've never seen one dent the edge unless I've crashed in one. I have a 3D tester but find the edge finder better suited and easier to use mostly because I don't like dials with .001 resolution. You have to be looking straight on to get the best reading. With an edge finder it doesn't matter where you your standing. I find that I can repeat to within .0002 with the edge finder in the CNC and with a manual machine .0005 is about the best you can expect. A $300 3D tester would be a waste of money on a manual machine.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Texas
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by CarbideBob View Post
    Marring the work with and edge finder may be a matter of what the work finish is and how soft it is.
    If I had to finish the back end of a small mirror mount with the mirror attached so as to hold back length I would not hit the mirror with an edge finder.
    Normally of no concern but I'd bet that if you get your 1500X microsope out all rotating edge finders marr the work piece in conventional materials.