What's new
What's new

Enco Mill w/ Variable Speed Head won't run over 1200RPM...and other short stories.

npolanosky

Cast Iron
Hi all,

I'm a member of an awesome makerspace called FamiLAB located in Orlando, FL. We've got some older machinery in our metal shop that needs some TLC, especially our '92 HAAS VF-1 and our Enco Knee mill. I'll start another thread for the HAAS stuff, for now this will focus on our sad little bridgeport clone.

First off, I know it's a piece of crap from across the pacific....That's part of why I'm here asking questions! If anyone would like to donate something nicer, we will happily write you a donation receipt and you can write it off on your taxes- We're a 501c3 nonprofit and we can do that. Thanks in advance ;) Past that, it's what we've got so I'm going to work with it and hopefully get some help from the awesome folks here on PM. Be nice, I'm a newly-minted self-taught machinist a la John Saunders- Learning by the seat of my pants, youtube, and LOTS of reading, but not all of the neat tricks and basic fixes are necessarily obvious to me yet :)

Anyway, let's get down to the problems- There are a few that I'd like some pointers on.

1.) The biggest problem we are having is that our spindle won't run over 1200RPM or so in high range, and not more than about 150 in low range. Ours has the (Bridgeport 2J?) variable speed style head as opposed to the step pulley type. When you turn on the spindle and crank the handle, it will speed up or slow down as expected, but once you hit 1200+ it audibly stops speeding up and sometimes "pulses". I'm sure it's something is the transmission and I would have pulled the head already if I knew what I was doing (Or had something to lift it safely with).