Good evening, Newbie here with a new to me HLV-H

Hephaestus29

Plastic
I heard there were quite a few Hardinge
Lathe owners here so I thought I would
give this place a try.

I’m 51 years old, an apprentice in
Machine Repair, and I have going on 20
years experience running a lathe and mill.

I started with a Smithy that I’ll try
and sell before long, I also have a
Comet Mill, with a Bridgeport Head, a
Vertical 16” DoAll and a
Horizontal Johnson cut-off bandsaws and
other misc. shop tools.

I hope to start going through the Hardinge
after my last courses are over in the
late spring.

I’m not sure why the pic uploaded sideways,
maybe someone can fix it for me thanks.

Attachments

• 6BC94029-CD5C-4DD5-A613-DE1AF56E4A5A.jpg
    6BC94029-CD5C-4DD5-A613-DE1AF56E4A5A.jpg
    17.4 KB · Views: 142
Saw that thing sideways and thought the stinking riggers dropped another one. Glad that did not happen, it just ruins your day. Hope it cleans up and runs nice. If it does you will be a happy camper.

Get a manual soon there are a few differences that you will need to learn so you so not break something expensive.

It's because cellphones don't actually rotate the picture to the way you're looking at it, they just rotate the display of the picture (not a good technical explanation!), then we websites send out the picture in the way that it was actually saved.

If you are on Windows, load the picture up into Paint (which is too primitive to bother with the clever Exif display stuff), then rotate it to the way you want and save as a new file. Then upload the result.

You'll probably find that you don't use the Smithy ever again, once you've got the Hardinge working to your satisfaction. But keep it until you know you won't have to re-manufacture any parts for the Hardinge that you can't do on the Hardinge itself for whatever reason.

Thanks for the replys.
I had office depot print off a manual
and a parts list tuesday.
It will be near the end of May before