What's new
What's new

Hardinge Cataract lathe questions

Technical Ted

Cast Iron
A few questions for you that are familiar with these gems. First, a short background. I'm a retired hobbyist. I already had a 15 and 13 inch lathes (along with 3 mills, SG, shaper, T&C grinder, etc.) but while making small model parts I thought it would be nice to have a small bench lathe to add to the arsenal. Saw this Cartaract with all the adders on craigslist and couldn't turn it down for the price.

I've done quite a bit of research and it looks like it is a model 37 out of the 1940's (it's got the newer compound slide hold down, not the single T bolt)??? It has the 3C spindle with pre-loaded ball bearings and twin V belt drive to the spindle. It's got 1" risers on the headstock and tailstock. I've included pictures for those interested. I got a lot of adders with it, including a 4C collet head with 45 collets, home made steady rest, milling attachment, tooling, chucks, faceplate, etc. etc.

Now for the quesions please:

1- Is something missing on the back, underside of the compound slide to help aid alignment on the ways? Or, do you simply push the slide up against the front dovetail and lock it down? I included a picture of the underside and there are some tapped holes there. Is something missing? If so, what?

2- What oil for the spindle bearings? I'm thinking Mobil #10 spindle oil??? I have some lighter Mobil spindle oil on hand as well for my grinders, but I'm thinking #10 for this?

3- I know it has pre-loaded ball bearings in the headstock. When I turn the spindle by hand it doesn't spin nice and freely like my Bridgeport mill spindle or the spindles on my grinders. Is this normal that it spins with some resistance?

I appreciate the help,
Ted
IMG_20191231_081231.jpgIMG_20191231_081258.jpgIMG_20191231_081315.jpgIMG_20191231_081521.jpgIMG_20191230_163702.jpg