What's new
What's new

Hardinge TFB + electronic lead screw = any good?

Frigzy

Aluminum
It seems like the only way to get a Hardinge HLV is to create an alternate universe where I already have a HLV :)

Meanwhile, I see TFB-s are going for much lower prices. If I get it right - it's basically the same lathe minus threading capabilities (i.e. threading lead screw and a gearbox).

I see some people do electronic lead screw mod to their lathes. I wonder if it's a viable option to buy a TFB and add an electronic lead screw to it. I'm an electrical/firmware engineer, so electronic part of it should be straightforward. Mechanical part is challenging though. I see a TFB has a smooth rod in place of a lead screw. What is that for? Can it be easily retrofitted with, say, ball screw?

Thanks!

The rod under the bed of aTFB-H lathe has four dovetailed flutes. Each flute has an adjustable stop numbered from 1 to 4. The shaft is rotated in 90 degree intervals with a ratcheting lever. The stops were meant to be used with the four position turret tool post that can replace the compound slide. Hardinge also made a four position cross slide stop with dial indicator. These stops and the tool post could be used for small batch production jobs. Such work might lead to a worn-out bed/carriage interface, so a cheap TFB-H might be worn out.

The only carriage feed on the TFB-H is the rack and pinion. It would be a neat trick to add a carriage feed screw and half nut device that is driven by a servo and timed to the main spindle. Can you devise a half nut for a ball screw? That would be a tricky design job indeed.

Larry

The only carriage feed on the TFB-H is the rack and pinion. It would be a neat trick to add a carriage feed screw and half nut device that is driven by a servo and timed to the main spindle. Can you devise a half nut for a ball screw? That would be a tricky design job indeed.

Larry