What's new
What's new

Hardinge HC automatic threaded troubleshoot

Savsx

Plastic
Hello, new to the forum and machining in general. Over the summer I did some soul searching and decided I’d stop thinking about the things I want to build and do it. I am a heavy equipment operator some days, manual laborer most, and I do the welding on our machines when they break. Before my current job I was in the army, Infantry then Civil Affairs after that, I’ve been out a few years. Our yard has three phase power and I secured a spot in the shop to put the machine and was able to borrow a truck and trailer to pick up the machine I found on Craigslist. The “working” Hardinge HC lathe with automatic threading attachment installed came along with a Acu-rite DRO, an extra carriage, an extra automatic threading unit, and new 5c imperial sized collets up to one inch.

Having zero experience with any lathe and little experience with electrical I took the guy at his word when I was told The machine wouldn’t change speed until I had it hooked up to three phase, and not the transformer he had set up in the garage. That the reason the scale for the X axis wasn’t reading on the DRO was because it needed to be reset which he wasn’t sure how to do. There was no compressor to run the threading unit but I was assured it was running. I probably paid way to much for the machine ($4500) however it was the only thing I found on Craigslist large enough to do what I wanted to do, and close enough to pick up.