What's new
What's new

Help needed! I am repainting both of my HLV-EM Lathes...

CaryC

Aluminum
I have two Hardinge HLV-EM lathes, both in good working condition. The paint has a lot of wear, but the beds/carriages and other parts are pristine and well taken care of.

I am a garage hobbyist and I don't like the surface rust that comes with raw metal. I am going to tear them down and give them both a good cleaning, painting, and replace any worn parts so that they look and run like new. I plan to only sand the current paint lightly so that it is a good base coat, and fill any chips prior to priming. I will need some sort of "Bondo" filler for the chips and for the areas that are worn down to the original casting.

I have a good vent system in my garage and will wear all of the proper safety gear.

I am wondering what is suggested for filler? Primer? Paint?

Thank you!

20210513_133419.jpg

20210515_085408.jpg

20210515_085412.jpg

20210426_191134.jpg

Seems hopeless!
You should just sell one of those EMs to me cheap! :-)

I’m following this thread to see what people say.

From what I’ve read in the past, it seems like bondo type fillers.
I’ve seen lots of different answers to the paint and color question.

From an email from Hardinge:
“Paint type is 7B battleship grey, available from Sherwin-Williams.”

(No mention of paint type, but it’s gotta be some sort of durable epoxy paint)

Seems hopeless!
You should just sell one of those EMs to me cheap! :-)

I’m following this thread to see what people say.

From what I’ve read in the past, it seems like bondo type fillers.
I’ve seen lots of different answers to the paint and color question.

From an email from Hardinge:
“Paint type is 7B battleship grey, available from Sherwin-Williams.”

(No mention of paint type, but it’s gotta be some sort of durable epoxy paint)

Thank you for the feedback!